BOND-HAWLEY HOUSE ACCESSORY EXHIBIT OPEN SELECTED DATES TBA
Recognizing the city of Lockport’s 150th anniversary, the exhibit covers 150 years (1865-2015) of hats, parasols, fans, shawls, gloves, bags, purses, stockings and footwear. Accessory fashions changed greatly over this 150-year period. What began as functional necessities became fashion accoutrements used to enhance outfits.
The exhibit showcases fashion trends from the sturdy to the stylish. “From Head to Toe” is exhibited throughout the fully furnished, 12-room, National Register-listed house, which is located at 143 Ontario St. in Lockport. Donations are always welcome!
The Bond House will be open selected dates through October, to be announced. Please call the History Center at (716) 434-7433 for upcoming dates. Tours can be arranged for groups of eight or more.
Docents will be on hand to guide visitors and offer information on the house and exhibit during scheduled tour hours. Many volunteer docents are needed to welcome and assist visitors during the long and busy Bond House season. If you can help, please call the History Center.
The exhibit “From Head to Toe” is co-curated by volunteers Gloria and Becky Pittler, who produced the successful 2014 exhibit “Treasured Childhood Memories” and many other past exhibits and events in the Bond House.
The Bond-Hawley House is Lockport’s oldest brick home. It was built by early Lockport community leader Col. William Bond and later owned by Erie Canal advocate Jesse Hawley, who influenced Gov. Dewitt Clinton to construct the Canal.