Niagara History Center

Come Explore 175 years of the Niagara County History with 2 main Locations and 7 Buildings of Exhibits!

Become a Member!

The Niagara History Center preserves, promotes and interprets the diverse cultural heritage of the people, places and events related to Niagara County and the Erie Canal. We are a collaborative community resource for lifelong learning for current and future generations. Apply online or click to download the form.

*Memberships are nonrefundable and valid for 12 months from date of purchase.

All members enjoy these great benefits:

  • Bi-Monthly Newsletter
  • Trip Discounts
  • Unlimited Free Admission to all sites!
  • 10% Discount in Gift Shops
  • Research Assistance (copies extra)
  • Monthly Programming

Niagara History Center Historic Sites & Exhibits

The five building Niagara History Center Complex at 215 Niagara Street in Lockport interprets the history of the Niagara Frontier from the time of Native American occupation to the early 20th century.

The 1863 Outwater Home features a Civil War history exhibit. The Old Carriage House contains the Native American, Pioneer and Transportation Rooms. The reconstructed barn houses agricultural implements, fire fighting apparatus and recreated trade shops. The 1884 Kandt House contains exhibits relating to the business and industry of Niagara County as well as a 1930s kitchen and doctor’s office. Finally, the 1835 Washington Hunt Law Office exhibits artifacts from an early 19th century land and law office.

The Penney Gallery is an exhibition gallery located at the Erie Canal Discovery Center in Lockport.

The Col. William Bond-Jesse Hawley House is a National Register Home built in 1824 by Col. William Bond; it was the first brick home in Lockport. The furnishings in the house’s 12 rooms are from that period and, with a few exceptions, are not original to home itself. It is open by appointment.

Click to download the Niagara History Center brochure

Questions?

Education Coordinator: Ann Marie Linnabery annmarie@niagarahistory.org | (716)-434-7433

Programs & Events

  • Museum Tour for School and Youth Groups
    View All

    Museum Tour for School and Youth Groups

    The Niagara History Center offers tours of the five building museum complex at 215 Niagara Street in Lockport. Exhibits in the historic buildings include Native Americans, early settlers, modes of…

  • Belva Lockwood Girl Scout Badge Program
    View All

    Belva Lockwood Girl Scout Badge Program

    Belva Lockwood Girl Scout Badge Program – Girl Scouts of all levels can earn a badge featuring the Niagara County woman who ran for President in 1884 and actually received…

Events Calendar

  • Tuscarora Nation rooms
    View All

    Tuscarora Nation rooms

    The two Tuscarora Nation rooms present information on the Haudenosaunee, “the People of the Longhouse,” including clans, beadwork, and games. A small-scale diorama illustrates how Indigenous People lived and worked…

  • The Washington Hunt Law Office
    View All

    The Washington Hunt Law Office

    This original 1835 building was moved to the museum grounds in 1955. Formerly located on Market Street in Lockport, the building is restored to a c.1835 law and land office.…